condolence on loss of (Retd) Justice Hosbet Suresh (1929 – 2020)



14TH JUNE, 2020

CDRO would like to express deep condolence on loss of (Retd) Justice Hosbet Suresh (1929 – 2020), we pay our deep respect to this great Rights activist as well as a Justice. After his retirement Justice Hosbet Suresh remained at the forefront of the human rights movement. Justice Suresh, more than 28 years, defended human rights jurisprudence through People’s tribunals and public hearing.

Hosbet Suresh (Retd) Justice had endorsed the call for abolition of death penalty at an All India Convention against Capital Punishment” organised by CDRO in February 2014. In his address he had stated that even the “rarest of rare” doctrine laid down by the Supreme Court in the Bachan Singh case was violative of Article 14 as it was being exercised in an arbitrary manner by judges as per their own discretion. He emphasised that the death sentence was not to be handed out unless it was demonstrated that all alternative options were unquestionably foreclosed. He also reminded that the powers of the President under Article 72 were to be exercised in a manner that promotes life as Article 21 was available to everyone from birth till death. He recommended that since it was the duty of the government to ensure reformation of prisoners, unless there was a negative report from the government that there were no possibilities of reformation, the option of death should not even be considered.

Rights activist throughout the country will always remember his immense contribution in the arena of Rights movement.

(CLC,Telangana),Kranti Chaitanya (CLC, Andhra Pradesh), Prit Pal Singh (AFDR, Punjab), and Tapas Chakraborty (APDR, West Bengal) Coordinators of CDRO.

Constituent Organisations: Association for Democratic Rights (AFDR, Punjab), Association for Protection of Democratic Rights (APDR, West Bengal); Asansol Civil Rights Association, West Bengal; Bandi Mukti Committee (West Bengal); Civil Liberties Committee (CLC, Andhra Pradesh); Civil Liberties Committee (CLC, Telangana); Committee for Protection of Democratic Rights (CPDR Maharashtra); Committee for Protection of Democratic Rights (CPDR TamilNadu); Coordination for Human Rights (COHR, Manipur); ManabAdhikarSangramSamiti (MASS, Assam); Naga Peoples Movement for Human Rights (NPMHR); Peoples’ Committee for Human Rights (PCHR, Jammu and Kashmir); Peoples Democratic Forum (PDF, Karnataka); Jharkhand Council for Democratic Rights (JCDR, Jharkhand); Peoples Union For Democratic Rights (PUDR, Delhi); Peoples Union for Civil Rights (PUCR, Haryana), Campaign for Peace & Democracy in Manipur (CPDM), Delhi; Janhastakshep (Delhi)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: